• FORUM
  • LOGIN
  • ADVERTISE

Dual Time Digital Alarm Clock

Discussion group on micro controllers, programming, and related..

Postby michael » Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:10 am

vu3cns wrote:First, thanks for your offer :D . I like to use two boards, because if one may like to use another size display, then it may helps.
I have the data sheet in my PC, but now I am not at home, I will back with in two days.
Also I will upload the circuit in a few days
:D
VU3CNS


There are a few issues I need to address.

1ST: Would a dual layer board be OK for the display? (Harder for new-bees to make) If it has to be a single layer board. The overall size will be larger, to allow room for the traces.(Thous it will be sloppy)

Duel layer recommended.

2ND: The pin out for the displays in your circuit is different than the Data Sheet you supplied. The displays you want to use are the ones in the data sheet, Correct?

3RD: There are no provisions for the display Decimal points, Correct?

4TH: Not important, but U3 doesn't show power or ground connections (Pin 8,16). And the third display digit doesn't show C connected. I will include them in the PCB.

That should cover just about every thing.
michael
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:33 am
Location: Tawas City, Mi, USA

Postby vu3cns » Wed Aug 15, 2007 2:38 pm

1. Can you make it in a single layer with jumpers and without compromise on board size?
2. I will confirm it soon..
3. Y, we don't need decimal points, do we?
4. In my software U3's power pins are hidden. Sorry for the mistake that C doesn't connected.
vu3cns
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Calicut

Postby michael » Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:14 pm

vu3cns wrote:1. Can you make it in a single layer with jumpers and without compromise on board size?
3. Y, we don't need decimal points, do we?


1. I can use jumpers, but is there room under the displays for jumpers?(If so they would have standoffs at the corners of the displays.)

3. I don't think so.

Sorry for the all the questions. I just don't have all the actual parts in hand for reference. Just want to make sure every thing will fit right and LOOK GOOD!
michael
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:33 am
Location: Tawas City, Mi, USA

Postby vu3cns » Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:37 am

Here is the Pin layout, it is as shown in diagram (that also a mistake in counting pins, i.e starting form top instead of bottom)
Image

Also we need only a PNP darlington pair having 1Amp, but only TIP32 or TIP127 (TO220 package) available here in local market

HERE is the modified circuit,


I hope you have enough space for jumpers under the displays..

Thanks for your helps,
VU3CNS
vu3cns
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Calicut

Postby michael » Tue Aug 21, 2007 6:11 pm

OK, here are a few PCB's i drew up. There's one for the original circuit as well as the large display version. Display board 2.01 has been changed for your revised circuit.http://rapidshare.com/files/50592755/Dual_Time_Digital_Clock_Artwork.zip

I will post my updated schematic for this circuit later. This will show all changes so the programing can be modified for the PCB's.

I found an error in the PCB. Forgot to pull RA4 and RA5 to VDD. I will update the artwork tomorrow(8/22/07) when i get to work


The link above now contains the Corrected board design.
Last edited by michael on Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:17 pm, edited 3 times in total.
michael
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:33 am
Location: Tawas City, Mi, USA

Postby michael » Wed Aug 22, 2007 7:34 am

I found an error in the PCB. Forgot to pull RA4 and RA5 to VDD. I will update the artwork tomorrow(8/22/07) when i get to work.
michael
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:33 am
Location: Tawas City, Mi, USA

Postby vu3cns » Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:53 pm

Hi,
It is a very nice design. Please note that the battery is 3V lithium (CR2030), so you can place a battery holder in the control board. Also change D29 to 1N5817. Please write the dimensions of the board in the file.
Today, I called the supplier, he told now 1.2" is LED display is not available, only 1" is available. I know when the tracks are placed once; it is very hard to change the design. But if possible and only if it will not take much time, please change the display to 1"(standard). If not possible, that may not create much problems, because pin dimensions are compatible, there will be a small gaps (8mm) between displays. The following are the dimensions, but I will purchase some pieces, then I will confirm it. What you think about a 2" displays?
1) 1 Inch
face length 34mm
face width 24 mm

2) 1.5 Inch
face length 44mm
face width 31 mm

Please post your circuit.
Thank you very much for your help.
73's
VU3CNS
vu3cns
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Calicut

Postby michael » Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:01 pm

OK, Sounds good. It shouldn't be too much trouble to create another display board or two. Are the electrical connections the same as the 1.2" displays. If so it would be real easy to adjust the board dimensions for the different displays. I updated the help file to include board dimentions.
michael
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:33 am
Location: Tawas City, Mi, USA

Postby vu3cns » Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:25 pm

michael wrote: Are the electrical connections the same as the 1.2" displays.

Yes the electrical connections are the same, but I will post dimensions after buying some items. Thanks a lot :) :)
VU3CNS
vu3cns
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Calicut

Postby vu3cns » Sat Aug 25, 2007 5:58 pm

1) 1 Inch
face length 34mm
face width 24 mm

The above dimensions are correct, can you change it?
VU3CNS
vu3cns
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Calicut

Postby michael » Sun Aug 26, 2007 5:51 am

vu3cns wrote:The above dimensions are correct, can you change it?
VU3CNS


Could you provide the pin Dimensions for those displays. When i went to draw up the new part. the dimensions for the 1.2" displays would make the pins fall outside of the dimensions you provided for the 1.0" displays. I need to know how far apart the two groups of pins are.

Also when you print out the artwork. Make sure that "Auto Rotate and Center" and "Fit to Page" are not checked. If they are the artwork will not print the proper size.
michael
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:33 am
Location: Tawas City, Mi, USA

Postby vu3cns » Thu Aug 30, 2007 8:55 am

Hi,
Here is the dimensions,
Image

:D :D
Thanks,
VU3CNS
vu3cns
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Calicut

Postby michael » Sat Sep 22, 2007 12:29 am

OK, here is the new display board for the 1.00" Displays. Use the control board previously posted.

http://rapidshare.com/files/57282975/Dual_Time_Clock_2.02_Artwork.zip
michael
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:33 am
Location: Tawas City, Mi, USA

Postby vu3cns » Sat Sep 22, 2007 12:43 pm

michael wrote:OK, here is the new display board for the 1.00" Displays. Use the control board previously posted.


Thanks, but please include the following,
1. Solder mask for Bottom Layer
2. Modified Ciruit.
vu3cns
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Calicut

Postby michael » Sat Sep 22, 2007 10:45 pm

I don't have a way to export the solder masks with the program i use. And I will get you the modified circuit shortly.
michael
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:33 am
Location: Tawas City, Mi, USA

PreviousNext

Return to Micro controllers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests