• FORUM
  • LOGIN
  • ADVERTISE

MAG COUNTER

Discussion group on micro controllers, programming, and related..

MAG COUNTER

Postby g3vfp » Wed Jun 10, 2009 4:53 am

Hi guys

I have built the mag counter with a 16x1 standard lcd display with code for the 16f628. It runs up initially with FC 0.51 okay, but when it displays the frequency the readout shows a UK pounds sign rather I guess than the decimal point. Here is what I mean.

0£00000 MHz <D

Doesn't make any difference what time base I select or offset the display still shows the "£" sign instead of a .

Any ideas welcome
Regards,

Dave G3VFP
g3vfp
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:48 am

Postby vu3cns » Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:15 am

Hi,
Your guess is correct, i.e the '£' sign is displayed instead of a decimal point. This because the program sends 0xA5 to display a bigger dot, and most of the LCDs displays, but some manufactures shows some other signs. The solution is send an ASCII value of decimal point, but it shows a something smaller '.'.
You can download the new code from the link below

http://rapidshare.com/files/242855458/f ... l.rar.html

73's
VU3CNS
vu3cns
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Calicut

Thanks

Postby g3vfp » Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:02 am

Hi

Many thanks for the explanation, and the modified hex file

de Dave
g3vfp
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:48 am

Re the fc0v51_sl hex

Postby g3vfp » Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:12 am

Hi

I have jusy reprogrammed the 628 using the modified code but it still comes out with the £ sign. Any ideas ?.

Thanks

Dave
g3vfp
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:48 am

Display Showing £

Postby g3vfp » Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:28 am

Maybe 2E as in the character table it is shown as 4 dots in a square. I do not see an actual single dot in the character table for the Powertip PC1601ARS-AEB-A. Very strange I did not realise these displays were so different. It is a learning curve hi.

Regards

Dave
g3vfp
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:48 am

Postby vu3cns » Thu Jun 11, 2009 6:30 pm

Hi,
Very sorry, I uploaded the old code, please download new from below

http://rapidshare.com/files/243349223/f ... l.rar.html
vu3cns
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Calicut

Postby g3vfp » Fri Jun 12, 2009 2:19 am

Hi

All okay I downloaded the file, and deleted the other. Just reprogrammed the 628 with the new file, and it still shows 0£00000 MHz <D

Maybe you could email it to me instead. Just in case :-). My email address is g3vfp@blueyonder.co.uk

Many thanks,

Dave
g3vfp
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:48 am

Postby g3vfp » Sat Jun 13, 2009 10:37 pm

Hi

Please forget my question I will find another lcd display for the
project as this is obviously an inconvenience for you.

Best 73es

Dave
g3vfp
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:48 am

Postby mvs sarma » Sun Jun 14, 2009 8:49 pm

It is rather interesting - no inconvenience at all
Regards
Sarma
mvs sarma
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 4:57 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India

Postby vu3cns » Sun Jun 14, 2009 10:55 pm

g3vfp wrote:Hi

Please forget my question I will find another lcd display for the
project as this is obviously an inconvenience for you.

Best 73es

Dave

Since your lcd displays correctly the decimal while showing the version, it is possible to use the same. I will check the code in detail shortly.

73's
VU3CNS
vu3cns
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Calicut

Postby mvs sarma » Tue Dec 08, 2009 9:45 pm

The dtasheet for the display used by Dave is in this link.

www.rapidonline.com/netalogue/specs/57-0905.pdf

By viewing the COLON and SEMICOLON at A3 and B3 respectively in the character table at page 9.

It suggests that they use thicker DOT. Following this scheme, E2 or DC should represent "decimal point"

Probably it solves the problem faced by DAVE. Necessary change in the HEX file can thus be planned.
Regards
Sarma
mvs sarma
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 4:57 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India

Postby vu2bpw » Sat Dec 19, 2009 5:04 pm

hi,

i assembled a mag counter with pic16f628a and programmed it with the help of cutedrummaerboy (Arindam). now i got a divide by 64 ic (u664) and want to interface it . but as far as i know it dont have nay divide by 64 mode in software. please provide it if possible..


thanking you,

ps.-- also MC12026A is availeable from fanlell.in as a prescaler costs around 370/--

arnab/vu2bpw
vu2bpw
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Kolkata

Postby lu1da » Sun Mar 13, 2011 7:09 am

Hello,i have the same problem,try two diferents displays but not show the correct symbol for the dot.
Any chance for the modified hex?
In any case thanks a lot for the very good project.
73´s
George
LU1DA
lu1da
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 6:58 am

Postby vu3cns » Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:11 am

Hi,
Here is the source code for the same,
http://rapidshare.com/files/452276591/fc0v51r.zip

73's
CNS
vu3cns
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Calicut

Postby lu1da » Sun Mar 13, 2011 6:25 pm

Thank you for your reply ! :D
I´m working in my old ft-301,and replace the original display/counter dead, with this circuit.
Again thanks for your work.
73´s from Argentina
George LU1DA
lu1da
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 6:58 am

Next

Return to Micro controllers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron